Two Red Marys and a Yellow Rose


I Think I’m Cheating on Duran Duran
02/05/2010, 17:25
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Every so often you discover a sound, an artist, a band … some purveyor of music that does exactly what you need done in your life at that moment.  For the past 26 years of my life, that has been Duran Duran (with an interlude during the squeaking awkward junior high/Catholic school years when it was Poison).  Now I think they might have to share the role with Phoenix, or even relinquish it for a little while.  I wish I could say I was a real badass and saw Phoenix when they came through Austin in 2005, but I was studying for the bar exam at that time and completely unaware of life outside of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and torts and the rule against perpetuities and and and… (I passed!)  So I admit that I didn’t see them live until their huge ACL performance in October 2009, but that sealed it.  It was the best day EVER: 

I don’t feel the need to explain exactly what it is about Phoenix; I imagine I’ll be compelled to babble at length before too long (Christian Mazzalai wears suits that FIT; I’m dying to learn how to do that!  Their guitars remind me of the summers  that *should* be but *aren’t*  in 100 degree cracked Texas…).  For now, suffice it to say that when I hear them I know that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be.  Thanks, y’all!

(There *will* come a day when I write a post that does not mention Phoenix.  Today is not that day.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

