Two Red Marys and a Yellow Rose


Why a Vegan Diet?
09/05/2010, 16:01
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

I mentioned my dog in a post last week, but he really needs a proper introduction.  (Why not today, eh?  It is Mother’s Day, and this is the closest I’m going to get for a veeery long time.)

This is Wayne:
He is a hydrocephalic PTSD rescue chihuahua who recently went deaf.  And I love him something awful.

When I was considering the shift from a vegetarian to a vegan diet, I researched all of the health and environmental benefits, and convinced myself that it was a highly responsible way to eat, but I couldn’t stop obsessing over how difficult it would be – I would miss cheese!  How would I get protein? Poor me – my life would be untenable!

Gah.  But I knew something would make me decide one way or another.  Sure enough, I looked at Wayne one day and something akin to the following took place in my head:  “Wow, I’m so thankful that Wayne is my little buddy.  He is so cute and has such a quirky little character.  I love him so much.  I’d love him regardless of what he was (okay, maybe not a cockroach).  I’d love him if he were a cow.  Oh man, if he were a cow he could produce milk for making cheese.  I love cheese.  But Wayne-cow might not want to be forced to produce milk for cheese.  I guess cow-cows may not either.  Dangit.  Same for honeybees and horses with their gelatinous feet.  Aw hell, I need to stop eating all that stuff.”

And so it went.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

He is such a cutie!!

Comment by Summer Huggins




Leave a Reply

