Two Red Marys and a Yellow Rose


Right! I have a blog.
08/09/2010, 14:51
Filed under: Uncategorized

And I have found another one of my craptastic self-snapped photos to indicate what I suppose is my big news: I’m leaving Austin to be a diplomat.  I start training as a Junior Foreign Service Officer in DC at the end of October, and then after an as-yet-undetermined number of months will be sent of to one end of the earth or another.  Really & truly, kids.

Quite exciting.  Quite terrifying.  It means that I am maniacally trying to do all of the Austin-type things that everyone says I’m supposed to do before I leave.  Considering the fact that I am a vegan who finds the outdoors patently disagreeable, suggestions such as the Salt Lick, Mount Bonnell, Lady Bird Lake and Enchanted Rock trundle right past me.  They are all beautiful as viewed through the windows of Pearl, my old Ford F-150 that will accompany me to DC but be sold before I am shipped off to my first post.

So yes, I’ll check back in with a must-see, must-do, must-hear, must-eat Austin list of my own.

(No doubt accompanied by keening over packing-out and all other manner of government-sponsored rituals guaranteed to rend one’s soul from whatever comfort one may have created for oneself.  But the adventure is worth it,right?)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on getting the call! I have added your blog to my blogroll of future FS blogs at http://lifeafterjerusalem.blogspot.com

Comment by Digger

Oh thank you so much! I have greatly enjoyed reading your blog for awhile now and can only hope that mine achieves half the class and positivity that yours possesses. It is always an encouraging read. Cheers, Mary

Comment by mcermel

Looking forward to reading about your adventure, Mary!

Comment by Travis

Thanks, Travis! And I know I will enjoy reading about yours as well – keep it up!

Comment by mcermel

eager to hear where you were posted! hope it’s a high!

Comment by bfiles




Leave a Reply

